How do Tennessee DUI laws differ from other states?

Nashville, Tennessee is a popular tourist destination. Many people who visit choose to go out to the bar but driving after the fact can prove consequential.

Each state varies in driving under the influence (DUI) penalties, so it is important to know the differences if you are charged with a DUI while visiting Tennessee.

DUI laws and consequences

As with most states, if your blood alcohol content level (BAC) is .08 or higher, Tennessee courts can charge you with drunk driving. If a police officer pulls you over and arrests you for driving under the influence, and this is your first offense, you may be facing these Tennessee consequences.

  • License revocation: When you are arrested for a DUI, your license will be automatically revoked for one year.
  • Jail time: In this state, jail time can vary greatly depending on the severity of the incident. A minimum stay for a first offense is 48 hours. However, the maximum is 11 months and 29 days.
  • Fine: Fines vary as well and can range from a minimum of $350 to a maximum of $1,500.
  • Alcoholeducation classes: After getting a DUI, you will likely need to go to alcohol education classes in order to get your driving privileges back.

If your blood alcohol level is .20 or above, you may be facing even more severe consequences, as this is an extremely high level of intoxication. There are also other fines and consequences that you may need to account for. Treatment may involve an ignition interlock device, as well as court costs and possible bail.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

contact the firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Patrick T. McNally, Attorney at Law
424 Church Street
Fifth Third Center, Suite 2260
Nashville, TN 37219

Toll Free: 800-785-9546
Phone: 615-200-9559
Fax: 615-635-0018
Map & Directions

Review Us